Gingerbread Cookies

IMG_1587

Nothing says Christmas time to me like the taste and smell of gingerbread!  When I was a little girl, my grandma (Tutu) would make gingerbread cake with lemon sauce, and it was my favorite.  I have never been able to get her cake quite right, but I have come to love making gingerbread cookies instead.  Since my son really loves gingerbread too, and really really loves the story of The Gingerbread Man, this will be our 2nd year making gingerbread people cookies for Christmas (we actually make these other times in the year too)  🙂

We like to start by telling or reading the story of The Gingerbread Man.  Then we wash up and get the step-stool ready in the kitchen.  My son (3) likes to scoop the sugar and flour into the measuring cups.  He (and his sister) also love to lick the beaters from the mixer when we’re all done mixing 🙂  Here’s my recipe (You can use any shape cutter you like.  In years passed I used a pretty snow flake cutter):

Gingerbread Cookies

1/2 cup unsalted butter at room temp.

1/2 cup sugar

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1.5 teaspoons ground ginger

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon ground cloves

1 egg

1/2 cup molasses

1 tablespoon vinegar

2.5 cups flour (I use whole wheat)

Mix butter with an electric mixer for about a minute.  Add sugar, baking powder, baking soda, ginger, cinnamon, and cloves to bowl and mix until combined.  Then add egg, molasses, and vinegar.  Begin adding flour slowly, mixing until all of the flour is incorporated into the dough.  Cover the bowl and refrigerate a couple of hours or over-night.

IMG_1579

Roll the dough 1/4 inch thick and cut with cookie cutter of your choice (I used a 3 inch person-shaped cutter).  Transfer to a cookie sheet and bake at 375 degrees for 8-12 minutes (less if your cookies are smaller than mine).  Edges will be starting to darken.  Let cool before decorating.  Makes about 12.

IMG_1584

I like to glaze my gingerbread with lemon glaze.  It reminds me of my Tutu’s lemon sauce.  To make lemon glaze simply mix about a cup of powdered sugar with a table-spoon or two of lemon juice.  Stir it up and add more powdered sugar or lemon juice to get the consistency you like.  Then spread or drizzle it on each cookie.  I let my son do this step.  I also set out raisins and almond slices for him to decorate with.  The toppings stick pretty well with the glaze.

IMG_1586

As you can imagine the entire process is infused with chants of “Run, run, as fast as you can!  You can’t catch me, I’m the Gingerbread Man!”  which makes the experience that much more fun 🙂 .  Happy baking to you and yours this holiday season!

36 thoughts on “Gingerbread Cookies

  1. waldorfinspiredmoms December 11, 2013 / 5:08 am

    Hello,
    Yum! Your gingerbread bread looks beautiful! Your recipe looks great and I’m going to try to convert it to gluten and dairy free. And hey…you call your grandma “Tutu’? We call our grandmothers “Tutu” in Hawaii too. May I ask where you live? (It’s totally okay if you’d rather be private…) Happy Holidays and thank you for sharing. Much aloha, Lori

    • Li'l Footprints December 11, 2013 / 2:14 pm

      One of my cousins was born in Hawaii. My grandma liked “Tutu” when she heard it while meeting her baby granddaughter. It stuck 🙂

  2. waldorfinspiredmoms December 11, 2013 / 5:59 am

    P.S. Sorry! I was just reading your previous posts and you talk about SNOW–so you can’t be in Hawaii! How interesting though that you use “Tutu” also!

    • Li'l Footprints December 11, 2013 / 2:57 pm

      Nope, I’m not that lucky. Although my husband notifies me every time a position opens up there with his job!

  3. Sheila December 11, 2013 / 6:38 pm

    These look so yummy.

    A couple of years ago I had this grand plan to make this big gingerbread man and read the boys the story of “The Gingerbread Man”. I baked it, hid it overnight and just as I was ready to unveil my great lesson, I found the dog eating the gingerbread man!! We still laugh about that.

    Glad you guys had more success than we did.
    Happy holidays.

    • Li'l Footprints December 11, 2013 / 9:03 pm

      The best laid plans 😀 The dog had a yummy treat anyway!

    • Kelly December 16, 2013 / 8:42 pm

      Sheila, that’s hilarious!

  4. thehomeschoolmomblog December 11, 2013 / 10:55 pm

    Okay; so our dough is chillin’ in the fridge for the night. Can’t wait to cute, bake, and decorate tomorrow!

    • thehomeschoolmomblog December 11, 2013 / 10:56 pm

      Rrrrrrr… cut, cut the cookies tomorrow. Although, I’m sure they’ll be cute too! (laughing)

  5. Pingback: holiday blog hop
  6. julie December 13, 2013 / 6:36 pm

    Yum! I love your idea of decorating with almonds and raisins and your lemon drizzle sounds amazing . Can’t wait to try these!

  7. Kelly December 16, 2013 / 8:44 pm

    These look so yummy! The lemon glaze sounds fantastic, can’t wait to try this out!

  8. Gisselle January 2, 2014 / 12:11 pm

    I tried your recipe and the cookies were delicious. The kids loved them. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a comment