Books and Knitting in January

We hit the library last week!  My oh my, I had forgotten how much I love using the library.  We will definitely make this a monthly excursion this year.  I picked up The Jim Henson Biography for myself and the kids picked a couple of picture books for themselves.  I added a couple of winter themed picture books that looked nice.

IMG_1634[1]

I’m about 50 pages into the Henson biography, and I love it!  It is taking me right back to those warm, sweet, loving feelings I had while watching the Muppets, Sesame Street, and Fraggle Rock as a young girl.  What an important figure he was for a generation of young people 🙂  I have also been working on The Wonder of Boys by Michael Gurian.  This book I am struggling through.  While it has some valid and thought-provoking points about raising boys to become happy men, I am often getting angry and having to put the book down!  Gurian makes some provocative excuses for absent and deadbeat fathers that I find offensive when given by the same author who places a lot of responsibility and blame on mothers (namely single mothers) for the emotional well-being of their sons.  Basically I find the book interesting and influential in my approach to raising a son, I am often offended by many of the authors societal prescriptions for lessening fathers’ roles in unwanted pregnancies and raising children with estranged partners.  I vow to finish the book 🙂  I have also been enjoying the Winter/spring issue of Renewal from the Association of Waldorf Schools of North America) and leafing through my seed catalogues, planning for spring.

I am finishing up knitting the lace cowl that I gave up on before Christmas.  It’s more of an infinity scarf really and I think it will look lovely on me when I finish 🙂   I also ordered yarn for a sweater for my mom.  I will share my progress on that next month, I hope.

IMG_1635[1]

The kids’ book basket is filled with winter themed picture books and a couple of fanciful stories too.  “Over and Under the Snow” by Kate Messner is charming book about a child and her father skiing through the woods on a snowy day.  It explores the animals and their homes for the winter.  This is something my son has been very interested in this year!  “Jack Frost” by Kazuno Kohara is a whimsical story about a boy who befriends Jack Frost and learns to love the winter.  It pairs really well with this old cartoon about Jack Frost

Then I added an imaginative book about walking with the moon on a leash, “I Took the Moon for a Walk” by Carolyn Curtis and Alison Jay.  I also included our copy of “Puff the Magic Dragon” illustrated by Eric Puybaret, which both of my kids have really taken a liking to 🙂

Happy reading and knitting to you all.  What’s keeping your imaginations and hands busy this winter?

Leave a Reply

