November Reading & Knitting

IMG_1525

The book basket is filled with silly turkeys, Native Americans, Pilgrims, and families giving thanks.  These are the books filling our days and getting us in the spirit of giving thanks and eating great food.

  • The First Thanksgiving Day, Laura Krauss Melmed (This is my fave.  The illustrations are beautiful and the story pays homage to both Pilgrim and Native American contributions to the tradition that we celebrate today.  It is respectful and easy for small children to understand.  It’s also a counting book)
  • Run, Turkey Run! Diane Mayr (This is my children’s fave.  A silly book about a farmer trying to catch a turkey for his family’s feast.)
  • Our Thanksgiving, Kimberly Weinberger (An easy reader, which makes it a simple story about a family gathering for a Thanksgiving celebration.)
  • Thanksgiving Day, Gail Gibbons (No holiday reading list is complete with out a Gail Gibbons non-fiction picture book packed with information and facts.  The illustrations are nice too.  Unfortunately some of the info is quite Eurocentric.)
  • 10 Fat Turkeys, Tony Johnston & Rich Dias (Another silly counting board book)

IMG_1523

Yes, that’s The Great Gatsby and yes, I’m still reading it 🙂  I’ve been spending most of my free time knitting Christmas gifts.  I’ve also been reading my holiday magazines and as usual working through Amanda Blake Soule’s The Rhythm of Family.

Image

Here’s what I’ve been knitting.  I decided to knit cowls for each of my sisters for Christmas this year.  I began with the purple one and it turned out so soft and cozy.  It also knitted up in a couple of evenings.  Then I started the green one which is beautiful, but taking a lot longer.  I’ve been working on it for a couple of weeks now and I’m not even half done.  So I ordered more yarn for the first pattern and I’m planning to knit up a few more of those.  Maybe the green one will be for me when ever I manage to finish.  I ordered both patterns and the yarn from Knitpicks.com, my favorite knitting store!

What are you reading and working on this November?

3 thoughts on “November Reading & Knitting

  1. Homeschool Crafts November 22, 2013 / 2:03 am

    Thanks for sharing your Thanksgiving book list. We’ve been reading “A Turkey for Thanksgiving” by Eve Bunting. It’s a funny story about a turkey who tries to run away from a moose, because he thinks he’ll land up on their dinner table. 🙂

    • Li'l Footprints November 22, 2013 / 3:17 am

      My son was just telling me about that book! They read it at preschool. Thanks for the suggestion. I’ll check it out.

      • Homeschool Crafts November 23, 2013 / 5:51 am

        Wow! Such coincidence 🙂 I’m sure he’ll enjoy the story.

Leave a Reply

