Weekly Rhythm

“To live is to be musical, starting with the blood dancing in your veins. Everything living has a rhythm. Do you feel your music?”  

~Michael Jackson

Our weekly rhythm is built from many weeks of trial and error with adjustments here and there.  As with all living breathing things in this world it is constantly changing and growing with our family’s needs.  With that said, the following seems to be the rhythm that we have settled into lately: 

Monday Meat Night for dinner.  This is our big “Sunday dinner” since we like to spend Sundays out and about on adventures as a family.  Monday is our slow day.  My husband is usually at work during the day and the kids and I spend the day getting back into the rhythm of the work/school week.  We spend Mondays close to the house playing, reading, doing chores, and preparing a big meal.

Tuesday Taco Night for dinner.  We love Mexican food in this family!  Tuesday we do a craft or art project. 

Wednesday Veggie Night for dinner.  We eat a vegetarian meal on Wednesday.  Wednesday is also a school day.  I am working on something to do with my daughter (1) while my son (3) is at preschool.

Thursday Soup Night for dinner.  We always bake bread on soup days. 

Friday Wild Card (anything goes) for dinner.  I’m usually excited for the weekend on Friday and lack motivation for cooking by the afternoon, so I usually choose and easy one pot meal like chili or a casserole.  Friday is also a school day.  I’ll get back to you when I have a brilliant idea for my time with my daughter.

Saturday Fun Day!   My husband works during the day, so the kids and I get some chores done and go out to do something fun away from our house.  We like to go out for dinner or get carry out and watch a movie on Saturday nights.

Sunday Family Day!  My husband is off of work on Sundays so we get out and have a family adventure!  This is a crock pot night so we don’t have to be home preparing our dinner.  We can come home hungry and tired to eat and go to sleep 🙂

Everyday we have an activity in the morning (art, craft, music, game, outing, preschool) after breakfast.  We go outside every morning and we have quiet time everyday after lunch.  In the afternoon the kids play while I cook.  Sometimes my son (3) helps me with dinner.  We usually go outside again in the afternoon.

My husband and I like to take the children out for nature walks at local nature centers and parks in the evenings after dinner.  With the days getting shorter and the darkness coming earlier everyday, I fear these walks will happen less frequently 😦  Another example of the living, breathing quality of family rhythms. 

Happy Hump Day 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

