My Son’s Dry Skin

With cool, dry weather approaching, I’ve been thinking about dry skin and eczema again 😦  My son has struggled with dry, itchy patches on his skin all 3 years of his life.  It always seems to clear up in the summer (when the weather is warmer and moister) only to return in the fall.  I have learned to manage it best I can.  Here’s what I’ve learned works for my son. 

Few baths.  I bathe my son once a week in the winter and twice a week in the summer.

In winter, I pour a little olive oil in the bath water.  When he’s really itchy he likes Aveeno Oat Bath in his water.

I found Raw Shea Chamomile & Argan Oil Baby Eczema Soap by Shea Moisture at Target last year.  I replaced my son’s regular soap with this bar soap and it has really made a difference. 

After every bath I lather him up good with heavy oily lotion like Eucerine or shea butter based body butters.

Nonbath nights I apply gentle body lotion (Burt’s Bees, Babyganics, Aveeno baby lotions).

I spot check each night before putting on PJ’s and apply oil (olive or coconut) or Aquaphor to the dry spots.  They usually clear up in a day or 2.

I dress him in 100% cotton pajamas.  I found that synthetic blends irritated his skin when it was all lathered up.

I run an extra rinse after each load of laundry.  Thank goodness my washer has an extra rinse setting!

 

**Please note that I am not a doctor.  I am simply a mother.  You should seek actual medical advice from a medical professional for any condition you are concerned about.

 

Do you have any tips for dealing with dry itchy skin?

2 thoughts on “My Son’s Dry Skin

  1. Atopic Mommy September 20, 2013 / 4:04 pm

    Use Soap nuts for you detergent or rather for his detergent 🙂

  2. Li'l Footprints September 20, 2013 / 6:07 pm

    I’ve heard a little about those! Where do you get them? Do they really get clothes clean? Even with an HE washer? I’ve been having a lot of trouble with my new HE top loader getting the kids clothes clean.

Leave a Reply

