August Theme: The Farm

August Theme: The Farm

I like to switch out a couple of my kids toys and books to fit a new theme for the week. It keeps things fresh and they love to wake up Monday morning to new books and toys!

Last week’s theme was The Farm. With our garden providing so much produce to harvest lately, it seemed a fitting theme. Here’s a list of the books I included (I keep theme books in a basket in the living room. This keeps them special):

Around the Farm by Eric Carle
This is a book of animals and sounds. It has push buttons with the sounds of each animal.
The Farmyard Jamboree by Margaret Read MacDonald
This is a fun song book. It can be purchased with a CD. I just LOVE this book as do my children. Check out the song here.
Little Blue Truck by Alice Schertle
A cute rhyming story of a truck and its animal friends learning the value of working together.
Mommies Say Shhh! by Patricia Polacco
A soothing story that teaches animal sounds.
Big Red Barn by Margaret Wise Brown
A rhyming story of animals on a farm.

Because we are entering Autumn, I included a couple of books about the changing seasons which I will leave out until we have officially entered Fall. These titles are:

Joy by Joyce Carol Thomas
This is a lovely poem about the joy of experiencing the seasons with your child. It appears this book is out of print. If you can ever find it, I highly recommend buying it. It has been one of my son’s favorites since he began to show favorites with books 🙂

One Tree by Leslie Bockol
This book follows the life of a tree and the animals around the tree through one year.

Do you have a favorite August theme, or favorite Autumn book? I’d love to hear about it!

Leave a Reply

