One Pot Spaghetti

One Pot Spaghetti

I learned that this was even possible from an article in a Martha Stewart Living magazine a couple of months ago. The key to this recipe is the liquid to pasta ratio. About 5 cups water to 16 oz. pasta and a couple of tablespoons of olive oil. Then just let your imagination run. I used about 4 tomatoes from the garden, an onion, lots of basil from the garden, about 5 cloves of garlic, button mushrooms, and water. You don’t need a lot of produce, but I’d go heavy on the herbs. Sprinkle in a little salt and pepper and boil for about 10 minutes (until the water is mostly gone). I served it with grated parmesan and red pepper flakes on the side.

I can’t believe I never knew you could do this, because it is so easy and fast! It’s also an excellent way use up produce and makes a light summer meal.

I’m looking forward to experimenting with different liquids (stock, wine — with water of course) and different veggies. I might even add some cooked meat (chicken, sausage) next time. Please let me know if you try a yummy combination. I’d love to try yours 🙂

Leave a Reply

