The Simple Thing Is the Right Thing

“Life is not complex. We are complex. Life is simple, and the simple thing is the right thing.” ~Oscar Wilde

Last week, in the name of simplicity, I thinned out my son’s toys and mainly his books.  As a former teacher, I have achieved an extensive collection of children’s books over the years.  (I love books!)  I have been watching my sons bookshelf become more and more crowded to the point where they are packed in so tightly that he struggles to pull one out. 

I spent last week reading Simplicity Parenting by Kim John Payne, and one of the things he suggests is thinning young children’s books to about 15.  So that became my goal.  In fact, I narrowed them down even more.  I chose books around a loose theme of home and made sure to leave a couple of fun favorites šŸ™‚   And guess what happened?  My son took one look at his bookshelf with about 10 books, 2 puzzles, 2 bins of little “guys” and animals, his Leapfrog Tag Jr. (which he loves), and his finger puppets and said, “Wow, new books!” 

Nap time and bed time goes much more quickly since the change because he is not hunting for just the right book, and I am learning more about his interests.  By limiting his choices I am finding that certain books he wants to read over and over (The 3 Little Pigs & All by Myself by Mercer Mayer) and some he chose once and hasn’t chosen again (The Little House, and Guess How Much I Love You). 

All in all, I knew that simplifying would lead to a fresh perspective on his books and toys and bedroom in general, but I am witnessing benefits I couldn’t imagine before I did this.  I now have a large selection of picture books in storage to be pulled out and exchanged as the seasons and themes of our life change.  After all, if simplicity is the security blanket of life, variety is still the spice of life, right?

Do you have any experiences with less being more? 

 

One thought on “The Simple Thing Is the Right Thing

  1. Pingback: li'lfootprints

Leave a Reply

