Counting Flowers

IMG_1242[1]

A new activity for your little ones and you šŸ™‚

My son and I really enjoyed a quiet 15 minutes together playing this game. It’s fun and helps practice counting with one-to-one correspondence and number recognition. It makes a pretty center piece too when you’re not playing šŸ™‚

You will need flowers (as many as you want your child to practice counting). I used 10. (I made my flowers with construction paper and popsicle sticks and the template at http://spoonful.com/printables/pretty-paper-flower-mom You could also use silk flowers)

A flower-pot filled with sand or dirt or rice. I used sand from our sand box.

Cards with numbers printed on them. I made ours with construction paper. I also drew dots on each one so that my son can count the dots to read the number on the card. (You could use dice, but you won’t get the number recognition).

To Play:

Place all of the flowers on the table near the pot. Place all of the number cards face down on the table. Draw a card and count the corresponding number of flowers to “plant” in the flower-pot.

You can extend this activity to practice simple addition and subtraction.

Happy counting!

~Sh

Leave a Reply

