Diaper Dillemas

The other morning I woke up to my daughter’s sweet voice calling me to her crib. I lifted her out and we shared a sweet snuggle before I opened her diaper. And Bam, I was hit by a burning ammonia smell.

2013-05-01 001 001

I recently switched my microfiber inserts and soakers for cotton and hemp because I’ve found natural fibers to get cleaner. So you can imagine my shock at this smell!

After smelling the new diaper to be sure it was clean, I changed her diaper and quickly began googling ammonia eradication in diapers. Here’s what I came up with, and so far it’s seemed to work.

1. Start with “clean” diapers.
2. Soak in 1 part vinegar 4 parts hot water for 30 min.
3. Boil in large pot for 30 min. (Don’t over load the pot. Work in batche.s)
4. Wash in washer with 1 Tbs. dish soap. (I have an HE washer. If you have a regular washer double the amount of soap.)
5. Soak 1 hour in 1/4 c. bleach and a lot of water (several gallons) (If you can control the water level in your washer, just do it in there.)
6. Wash regularly with detergent. (I use 1/4 c. Borax in my washes because we have hard water.)
7. Run 6 rinses.

I only washed/stripped the inserts and prefolds and soakers this way. Not the shells (PUL will weaken in the vinegar, bleach, and heat)! They came out white, white, white and smelling of nothing which is important. If they still smell like soap or bleach keep rinsing!

Time is the true test with all things diapers though so we shall see if the ammonia returns.

~Sh

Leave a Reply

